Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Extending Children

Hello everyone!

I hope you're all having a good term!

I am a Reception teacher and I was observed by my head teacher and somebody from my LEA today as I've just finished being an NQT! I did number bonds to 6 and I got the children to record the different ways of making 6 using number sentences. In my feedback they both said it wasn't appropriate for the children to be recording number sentences in the first term of reception and that really it was a year 1 objective. However, the Reception teacher I work with who has 2 years exeprience, extends her higher ability in this way and the foundation coordinator believes if the children are ready then why not get them recording number sentences.

I'm a bit confused as to whether this is how I should be extending my children? I could see today that the children I was working with couldn't really cope with finding the different ways and then writing the number sentence to go illustrate this. I would rather not extend my children in this way, but then will my children be falling behind my colleague's children? Please can you help?

Thanks a lot!

Tash X

What a dilemma! We are often criticised for failing to extend our more able learners and when you have tried to do so, you have been told not!!

However, I wouldnt be doing that this term. I doubt I would be partitioning and finding number bonds at all, although I am a great fan of a ladybird and dice or number cards to add spots to the ladybird base and I might be tempted to do this orally. If I were to record, then I think putting numbers and symbols together from cards rather than writing any of it might be possible.

I think at the moment it is sufficient to count out objects to a given numeral or find the numeral to match a given set. And I would do that practically, differentiating and extending the children appropriately with the numbers given.