Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Hi,

Hope someone can help!

I have a llittle girl in my setting who is nearly four and will be starting school in January. I am a new manager in the setting so am only just getting to know the children and thier back grounds. This little girls mum passed away with Cancer when the little girl was a baby, within the past month her grandfather has passed away, he was a very close adult in her life. The little girl is missing not having a mother and has in the past few weeks started talking about missing her mummy and how granny is sad because granny misses her grandad and so does she. The little gilrs behaviour is starting to become very challenging and is obviously causing concern with her keyperson. The little girl is obviously struggling to understand her feelings of 'grief'. Dad is very open with the little girl and talks about mum regularly. Has anyone any suggestions as what we can do to support the little girl as my heart goes out to her. She will openly say to the other children when they talk about thier mummies that she has not got one because she died of Cancer and is in heaven.

The ideas i have thougt of are, if dad is ok with it, would be for dad to bring in photographs of mummy and to let the little girl maybe make a collage with the photos, and we could write a story based on the little girls own words, this would then be laminated for her to keep in nursery and be able to look at it as and when she wanted to. I have also thought about providing a large area in the garden for example to set up a creative area, with different papers and media to let her freely explore her feelings through art, with maybe music in the back ground, this would be set up as a SG activity. I have also thought of going to the library to see if i can get any good pre school stories based around bereavement.

What do you think, do these ideas sound ok, or have you other ideas?

Thank you

Rosepetal