Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Asking As A Parent?

Hi

I have been working for about 6 months in a pre-school and we are just starting to look at letters and sounds...only 5 mins ...card with A a and then pictures apple , ant etc so nothing really heavy (in fact majority are just too young to notice or are just wanting to get off and play!). The children are asked/encouraged to write their own name on things etc.

Now im also a parent of a 4 year old boy who attends the pre-school with me and has just started school in the afternoons. He will be full time after xmas. He has never showed any interest in letters etc, likes for us to read to him every night, but still not interested in writing etc. In fact I have been having trouble getting him to hold pencil properly but the TA at school has shown him a "flick trick" and boy he's got it :o . School are now doing letter sounds with him (know this from home-school diary) but to be honest I was just glad that the TA said he had settled in really nicely! The other thing that worries me is that he is quite a whizz on the PC and insists on writing his name in capitals as shown on the keyboard. We have tried to show him how to write his name in lower case but he knew how to spell it out on the keyboard and so just copied it! I have never made a big thing about this as I really didnt want to interfere with the way school will teach him (to be honest was just glad at the time that he wanted to write it xD rather than go off and be a superhero :( ).