Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Developing Foundation Stage Units - The Book?

Hi everyone,

Great to see Foundation Stage Units featured so prominently on this site!

I set up a Foundation Stage Unit in the early nineties- we called it an Early Years Unit then (it was way before the Foundation Stage even existed) Nursery and reception-age children were totally integrated, in an open-plan space, within a primary school.

I now work as a freelance early years consultant, and among other things, I run a course at The Institute of Education (London) on developing Foundation stage Units.

I'm considering putting together a book on the subject and would be interested to know what aspects you think it would be helpful to cover.

Best wishes to everyone and keep up the good work!

Hi Lala -

Welcome to the Forum and thanks very much for your first post! :D (I'm happy to say we're recommended as a useful resource on the IoE website! )

A book on Foundation Stage Units sounds like a fine idea to me. As you've already noticed, we have talked about these settings a lot in the past, and there are some common themes. Let me make way for those who have a lot more experience in the area than me! :)

Hi Lala,

A book on FS Units would be really useful - the things we have most problems with are the general logistics e.g.

-Timetable

-Movement of staff and children - how long do staff/children stay in 1 area - is free-play the answer.

-Should F1 and F2 be fully intgrated? Many of our F1s seem intimidated by F2 chn. and always return to their base room. Also as our attainment on entry is extremely low, the difference in ability is very great.

-Planning - finding a simple format for everyone (6 or 7 people in our case) to follow and that works for both F1 and F2.

-How do you organise the rooms - we have 3.

-Do staff have breaks - when?

There are so many questions??!!