Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Numeracy And Literacy

Hi,

This year has been like a trial and error experience for me as I am new in Reception and I was trying to get my head around the EYFS. Next year we are very likely to be inspected so I am trying to evaluate my planning all the time to make sure it is correct. I do feel like I am still unsure of a couple of things, like, the numeracy and literacy objectives for Reception- with the EYFS in place do we still follow the objectives from the standards site or not? It is just that with the early learning goals, the scale points and everything else I just want to ensure I am right in what I am doing!

Please can someone reassure me with the literacy and numeracy plans, I would really appreciate it! You probably think I am really dumb at this time of year to be asking but I always feel I am missing out something that other people might be doing.

Thanks

Firstly I'd like to sympathize with you because it is really hard to know whether you are doing the right thing. I will try to explain what we do and how I think it fits together and hope it helps.

From the maths point of view, we plan using the ELGs - these fit in with the strategy anyway and always have done as they are also the key objectives - also the maths update for year R on the strategy website is not particularly useful (in my opinion) anyway so I would stick to using the EYFS - that is what's statutory anyway.

Personally I feel you should also stick to the EYFS for literacy also. The main part of the literacy strategy to bear in mind is ensuring a variety of reading/writing genres but this is part of the EYFS also so it really shouldn't make any difference.