Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Ofsted Judgements

Hi All

I am a teacher in a school attached Nursery - Ofsted have been in for 30 minutes during small group time only - yet they spend all day in PVAs.

How can we be judged fairly? Would like views from other school attached nursery teachers on this.

Thanks

jenny

It does seem so unfair on both counts if schools only get 30 minutes and little chance to show what they do and we, PVI's get at least 1 whole day if we are open all day - if not 2 - as we did last time round. Where is the parity and balance between both sectors that "they" the powers that be keep spouting about. :o

It does vary an awful lot within the PVI sector too. I have supported settings this year who have had anything ranging from 2 hours to 2 whole mornings.

Plus in a school there will usually more classes or groups to observe so they couldn't possibly spend much more than half an hour or so in each one (depending on what their focus is going to be they will spend more time in some age groups than others)

Our school and nursery were inspected in Feb 2009.

(Our nursery is LA maintained and private)

The private bit of the nursery had been inspected (as it was newly opened) in May 2008.

The inspector visited for 2 days..... probably half of each day.

Previous inspection (2001) had shown the nursery to be a strength of the school.

I think these inspection reports and the Headteachers school SEF give the inspectors an opinion before they set foot in nursery.

On the Feb inspection they spent very little time at all with us whilst we were working but a long time talking to us at the end of the day.

Our local authority has recently been through an educational review with many schools cllosing and many schools being well over their due date for inspection....... maybe this round for us anyway was just to catch up!!