Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Early Years Foundation Stage Profiles

Hi i achieved Outstanding in my ofsted and am a registered childminder. I use an eyfs profile for my children under 5 and use it as a tool to measure their achievements and by the time they attend full time school i am well aware of their capabilities.

Am i doing wrong by doing this , Ofsted seemed pleased with it hence my outstanding but local co ordinator says I must definately NOT use it . please help

Hi and welcome to the forum.

As far as I understand (as a reception teacher) EYFS Profile is for use at the end of the reception year as a tool to inform year 1 teachers.

Its not supposed to be used as a 'tracker', but in order to track progress you can use devlopment matters statements.

Hoe this helps

Im sure another childminder will be along soon to offer advice.

Lucie x

Hi and welcome from me too. I agree with Lucie.

I'm not a childminder though, I work in a school. Our nursery staff do not use the eyfs profile but they do track progress using development matters statements.

Hi, I used the development matters statements to track progress of my under 5's when I was a childminder (and that is what we do in preschool too) The profile points are to be used in the term they are 5 to give a summary ready for transition to Year 1. The Development matters statements are much more closely relating to where the children are at below 5 years old, and should be more useful to you

HTH

Clare x

Hi and welcome to the forum.

As far as I understand (as a reception teacher) EYFS Profile is for use at the end of the reception year as a tool to inform year 1 teachers.

Its not supposed to be used as a 'tracker', but in order to track progress you can use devlopment matters statements.

Hoe this helps

Im sure another childminder will be along soon to offer advice.

Lucie x