Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Talking Tubs

Hi All

I am at present undertaking my foundation degree in early years and for one of my tasks I have decided to undertake carrying out a "talking tub" with the children.

Although I have done treasure baskets with some children I am nit sure whether the talking tub would be similar.

Has anyone done this and do you have any great items or ideas I could try out?

:o

thanks

dramapixie

Hi All

I am at present undertaking my foundation degree in early years and for one of my tasks I have decided to undertake carrying out a "talking tub" with the children.

Although I have done treasure baskets with some children I am nit sure whether the talking tub would be similar.

Has anyone done this and do you have any great items or ideas I could try out?

xD

thanks

dramapixie

Sorry I have no experience of using talking tubs though strangely enough I was looking at some suppliers this week. I really liked one that had a theme of 'Autumn' lots of photos and objects but they were quite pricey! As with many resources I thought it would be easier and cheaper(!) to make my own. I also thought home made could address children's needs better. I guess the idea is that they investigate, think and discuss and of course ability to do so varies enormously across the age and developmental range.

Sorry didn't mean to prattle I really clicked reply to say welcome to this fantastic forum

Good luck with your study and the talking tub hopefully someone who has used them will be along soon :o

You should try to get hold of a copy of Talking Thinking Floorbooks by Claire Warden it has some good info about talking tubs

Thanks

Yes I have been told of this book but it was not in at the library where I go for my Uni days. However I think I have found another library that has it. Better get along there quick!

dramapixie