Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Long-term Planning

I am a nursery teacher and, following advice from an EYAT, am in the process of overhauling my planning. I wondered if anyone can give advice/examples. Until recently I had long/medium and short-term plans as follows:

long-term was an overview of topics and areas of learning for each half-term

medium-term planning showed the half-termly topic broken down into the weekly focus and

short-term planning showed what would be covered over the course of the week (not very child-friendly, I know)

So all is now in the process of change.

I think I've got to grips with the environmental map and PLODs (short-term plan)

Also, the medium-term plan - an A4 sheet for each activity (e.g. book corner, sand, water, dough etc) with the relevant development matters statements, resources and role of the adult. A unchanging document (unless new toys/equipment/areas are added).

Now, LONG-TERM PLANNING: I have been told that it should be no more than a calendar of events for the year. But I would like to go a little further than that - perhaps have a proforma to divide the year into the six 'terms' showing perhaps school activities (e.g. World Book Week, school photographer etc), Visitors, Festivals and celebrations etc.

Does anyone plan in a similar way and, if so, have an example that I could adapt/adopt?

Any comments re planning would be very welcome!

I too am in the process of overhauling the planning at my setting.

I had a recent visit from out local development officer regading this subject and was told that I need not continue with my long term plan or medium term plan!.

I am still trying to get my head round it as it seems like e aredoing away with a lot of work.