Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Incidents Relating To Policies

I am a 17 year old student studying child care, one of my assignments is to relate incidents to policies and what went wrong.

The policies/procedures/legislation's I have to cover are:

- Child collection policy

- Food safety act (personal hygiene or kitchen hygiene)

- Data protection act

- RIDDOR

- Confidentiality legislation

- Adult to child ratio

- Risk assessments

- Hygiene control procedures

- Emergency procedures (fire, missing child, abduction, illness)

For all of these I need a incident where the policy wasn't being followed correctly and why.

I have covered Adult to child ratio with the Teddy Bear's Nursery in which a staff member was left alone with children and was able to abuse them. I have also covered food safety act with the Jigsaw's Day Nursery in which a child was fed food they were allergic to, which led to his death.

If anyone could help me on the remaining policies I would be forever grateful! :D

(This is my first post! Eeeek! :wacko: )

Edited by Guest

Welcome to the Forum, Leanne and congratulations on making your first post.

If you do need real incidents to reflect on, there are many reported incidents of children escaping from nursery - just do a quick google and it'll make your hair stand on end! :o

and there was an incident I remember reading about a child who drowned in a puddle while at nursery , a while ago now but google may help find it..

and one who was strangled by the cord on a bag hanging on a cot.. here

both could be used for risk assessments either not being done or not followed..

also try a search for food poisoning in nursery also throws up a few articles..

sometimes it is knowing the sort of things to search for.

i woudl suggest when doing this you note where you got the information from so that you can show it and find it again if needed..