Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Summative assessment

Hi All,

I am new to teaching Reception and generally finding it quite tough. I have been a teacher for 6 years but mainly in KS1 with a bit of KS2 experience. My biggest bugbears are planning, observation and assessments. I am used to doing mainly summative assessments alongside formative assessments, but I am confused as to whether there should be any summative assessments at all in Reception? I went on an observation course yesterday and summative assessment wasn't mentioned at all. This is what my school are expecting me to do over the next couple of whole school "assessment weeks";

Letters & sounds assessment

Number recognition to 10 then 20

Writing numbers to 10 then 20

Writing name assessment

Writing assessment - writing a sentence linked to a picture

Cutting assessment

Goodenough man assessment (i.e. can they draw a man)

And probably another one that I've forgotten about.

Is this normal?!? This is more or less the same as what I did in Year 1, but isn't Reception supposed to be based on observations?

Please help!

Thanks x

Hi louhilton I didn't want to read and leave and I am sure you will get lots of advice on here but the main thing for me is to stick to the principals of the EYFS and certainly you are not asked for summative assessment until the end of the EYFS.

However....your school will want you to conform so give them the information of where you are planning for these children so what % of children you are planning for in L&S Phase 2 / 3 / 4, DM numeracy, lieteracy etc. Also give then a brief outline of the charachteristics of learning as this will be something you need to report to parents on at the end of the year. I am not sure why they are hung up on cutting and the Goodenough man unless they know what they will do with the information but then I am a bear of very little brain and I know someone will come along soon and be more specific!