Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Top up fees?

I'm a Reception Teacher and would like some advice on behalf of a friend. Her little boy is due to receive NEF after Christmas for 15 hrs and she wants him to attend for the 15 hrs but has been told she will need to pay extra. I was under the impression that settings couldn't ask parents to do this. I'd really appreciate some advice.

I will second - no third that :1b

There are some 'dodgy' practices going on out there and frankly it bugs me :( I would love to charge 'top up' and I know my parents would pay it - but it's not allowed so I won't do it.......

To clarify - when I say 'top-up' I would love to charge my hourly rate - so that would be an additional 0.70p per hour per child - over the top of NEF.........I have long held the view that the system is faulty - i.e. someone else is determining my hourly rate - grrrrrrrrrr

• Like 2

Could you explain how the system works and then allow parents to make a voluntary contribution. You can claim gift aid on donations too :D

Yes, thanks Rea - I'm sure I could......but.......I really, really object (and always have) to the jolly Government being able to set my hourly rate - perhaps I'm just a disagreeable old bat :ph34r: OK you can all stop shouting "yes you are"!!! xD

• Like 3

We are an all year setting but fund the 15 hours over 38 weeks as per guidance. Some children access it purely free and then are off in the school hols, some access the free plus a couple of 'add on' hours but pay nothing for these during the hols and the children accessing daycare sessions have the full 15 hrs deducted off their bill during term time and pay full daycare rates in the hols.