Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Letters and Sounds

I'm a long term supply teacher and work for a day a week in a Reception class. In the 3rd week of the new term we started on Phase 2 of Letters and Sounds, one sound each day and have continued this over the following weeks. Is this typical practice?

The children are split into ability groups but all work at Phase 2, some at a slightly slower rate. However, I feel that some of the children would benefit from Phase 1 activities.

What do other teachers do? Thanks in advance.

We start with phase 1 for everyone. After on entry, c.3 weeks we start phase 2 but some children remain in phase 1 too. Especially orally blending and segmenting, rhyming and alliteration. They continue with the phase 1 activities along side phase 2. We also place phase 1 games in the enhanced provision to target certain children.

We have 60 children, in the first few weeks we did Phase 1 activities. From that we have split them into 4 groups, 2 groups doing Phase 1, 1 that's just started Phase 2 and 1 that's coming towards the end of Phase 2 (both of these revisit Phase 1 activities, particularly Aspects 4, 5 and 7 ).

Thanks very much for your replies. Jocrow, it's interesting that you have a group of children finishing Phase 2, Are they secure with the letter sounds, tricky words and HFW?

For those of you on Phase 2, do you introduce the letter sounds each week as stated in the document? I really struggle with this as we seem to be racing ahead and the children seem to be getting more and more confused.

Katkat stick with the pace of letters and sounds it is the constant review at the start of each lesson which embeds the learning. It does work. (I do remember thinking it was too fast when we first started it). If you have never done it before if you have an opportunity to see it an another school where it is established this will probably help.