Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Help needed - how to get my ethos across?

AnonyMouse_13789

The ethos at my Pre-School which I instill daily is ......

1. process over outcome
  2. In the moment planning
  3. Skills based - ie: not everyone has to make an Elmer, they can make whatever they want as long as we are practising the taught skill.

The problem is that everyone seems to subscribe when i'm there but when I am not which is during the holidays (as a teacher I only work term time) everyone reverts back to their default setting....colouring in, everyone making an Elmer by colouring in the blanks, templates etc.

How to I address this?

I have an inset day and would like to focus on this with maybe an activity or something but cannot think how would be best to approach it.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Have you seen fluffy duck syndrome.

On this lovely forum someone produced an easy to read handout.

Not the whole solution but sometimes knowing someone else is spouting the same as you can help.

At uni we did an exercise where we were all given a flower cut out and the same screwed up tissue paper with specific instructions. After completing the task we then had to evaluate what we learnt. That helped to get message of creative thinking across too.

• Like 4

We did an exercise with craft where we were given a range of items and told we had to make a flower.. - and then the leader went round telling us all that it was wrong and made us all use the same items, making us undo our work, sit and wait until everyone had reached the same stage before allowing us to carry on.. got very boring and dull..

Followed by , now have a go yourselves , do whatever you want.. with no agenda or interruptions

Completed by a what did you learn from each exercise..

• Like 2

Hi

I did a search and found a couple of previous discussions that might add more food for thought: