Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Early Years National Curriculum

Guest libs

Hello

I'm new to this, hope someone can help me! I have just been for a PGCE interview for an early years course. It was mentioned to me that I should have a look at the national curriculum for early years, she mentioned something like "stepping stones" but I cant find it anywhere. Does anyone know where I can get hold of a copy? I have the NC for Key stage 1 and 2 already and as Im starting a new job as an early years teaching assistant in January I want to be ready!!!

thank you

Libs

Hi Libs -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting! :D

On the Surestart website, there's a big (BIG) document called the Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage, which explains about Stepping Stones and how they fit into the areas for learning etc. You can find it here.

Also, we have downloadable stepping stone templates in a very brief article, which you can find here.

If you have specific questions, once you've started looking through the Sure Start document, I'm sure the members here will be happy to help you out!

Welcome again, and good luck with your new TA role!

Best wishes,

Steve.

undefined hi I'm new too but i doo know that the stepping stones are in the nCurriculum guidance for the foundation stage from QCA (find it on their website and ask for a copy free)

ok

Hi Libs, and welcome to the site. The other posts answer your question, but here's a very brief description of the Foundation Stage Curriculum:

Divided into six areas of learning: Personal, social, and emotional development; Communication, language and literacy; mathematics; knowledge and understanding of the world(science, IT, Geography/History/R.E.); physical development; creative development.