Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Organisation Of The Day

We are still quite formal in our school, and as a reception teacher I am very keen to change that. How does everyone else organise their day? We have got to get outside too of course, but we are quite a small unit and lack the 'manpower' to be outside everyday. :o

We have just started to be a little more formal now its the summer term. We have a short literacy/numeracy shared input then have 2 guided groups, 1 with me and 1 with nursery nurse. The other groups get to choose from other areas in class...we are in a FSU so we have a creative area, a K+U of W area, sand/water area and 2 role play areas. WE are just starting to implement guided reading next week to help build up to Literacy hour in Summer 2 term. We alternate the groups so that all the children get to do activities with an adult at some point , we currently plan literacy/numeracy activities over 2 days and have Fridays usually to consolidate skills and revise objectives and to complete observations of children

Hello,

I plan my day in the FSU exactly the same as Kermit21. It's works brilliantly and all of the children are very focused and happy.

Boogie x :D

Do you also fit in whole class PE sessions or is this covered in outside play?

Also when you say you have whole class literacy/numeracy input what do you cover in these sessions?

Thanks so far your replies. We are working like that now in the Summer term too. Hope you don't mind but how do you organise the day the rest of the year?

kermit, when you do focussed time with the children, and the others go to other areas around the room do these areas have a focus or do the children initiate their own focus?

Glad you asked that. That was going to be my next question. Sometimes feel like I'm going around in cricles with this - does anyone else feel the same? Has anyone got a weekly plan proforma I could take a look at.