Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Linking Observ And Plans

I understand that it is important that planning is informed by observations but am confused as to how to show this on plans. I keep being told that it should be hilighted on plans why that activity is being carried out but what does this mean the plans look like in practise? I'm new to pre school and am trying to get my head around it all. Please help!!

Hello

What I do is highlight the learning intention for the week and then match that colour with a dot to the activity or toy that I am getting out to cover that intention. I also write in the box whether it is child led c/l (from next step sheets) adult led a/l from mid term plan or group lead g/l something we are getting out for example because there are a load of boys in and to stop them charging about the cars come out to occupy them.

Does that help?

Deb

Thanks for that. It has helped a bit!

What do othe people do? It's documenting how a particular activiity has been planned for all the children but actually links to an observation on a particular child last week that i am struggling with.

Hi karen, I used a daily planning sheet which had a box for focus children, those who I thought would benefit mostly from the activitiy or those who I knew were interested in that particular thing that week. Each childs observation sheet would give more details as to why. :D

Sounds like you are talking about specifically child led planning, do you have next step sheets for your children? Where you decide how to move them on to the next step this plans the toy / activity you will get out specifically for that child, but the whole group can use?

We dont as a group show our child led planning on a group wide sheet, we just mark it on the weekly plans that it is child led and then refer back to the next step sheets for the planning.

Am I helping or confusing you?