Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry
This is the EYFS Staging Site ×

Interview Panel For New Head?

I have recently been appointed as our school's only teacher governor. Our headmistress announced last week that she is leaving in Dec. Our chair of governors has informed all governors that they are entitled to be on the interview panel for the new head if they so wish. I have been thinking whether or not to do it but I can't decide. Was hoping for some advice.

I do think that it will be a really good experience for me as I am only in my second year of teaching and I do think it's important that the staff have a say in who is going to be leading them however I am a bit worried that others may think I shouldn't be on the panel as a recently qualified teacher and a relatively new governor.

What would you do?

Why not talk to your chair of Governors about it or your head?

I have never heard of teacher reps being on panels to interview for a senior position but if you feel that you can represent your colleagues then go for it. If others make a different choice though how will that feel and how will you feel if your colleagues do not like the choice that you helped to make?